The summer I fell in love: Jenny Han

the summer i fell in love

the summer i fell in love

the summer i fell in love -or The Summer I Turned Pretty, by its English title—is the first novel in the trilogy Summer, a young adult collection written by American author Jenny Han, known for To all the boys that I fell in love with. The work was published for the first time on July 21, 2020 by the international corporation of the Planeta publishing house.

After its launch, success was immediate. The trilogy, composed of the summer i fell in love, There is no summer without you y We will always have summerrespectively became the best seller according to the bestseller list of the New York Times. After the good reception from fans, Prime Video bought the rights to produce its original series.

Synopsis of the summer i fell in love

The Summer Billy Returned to Cousins ​​Beach

Translated by Marta Becerril, and published under the Crossbooks label, this romance novel follows the life of Belly Button, a girl whose existence is divided into summers. The protagonist defines herself as someone without much to tell, a person who waits every June to really start enjoying what she loves: a beach, a house, a fake aunt and her two children.

It is not enough to say that Belly he longs for every summer with all his strength. The protagonist's own mother used to visit the beach house of her best friend since she was nine years old. Cousins ​​Beach had become a home for them, as did her children. That's how Belly adopted the house as part of himselfto, and to the Beck Fisher family as an extension of their ancestry.

The Summer Belly Button Became Pretty

Throughout all your summers, Belly has been focusing too much on the Fisher boys, Conrad and Jeremiah, who are very different from each other. Conrad is “dark, dark, dark. Completely unattainable, inaccessible.” Meanwhile, Jeremiah is an angel with golden ringlets who has always treated the protagonist very well, becoming one of her best friends.

Even though Belly has overanalyzed them for years, they don't seem to pay her the attention she seeks. However, this summer will be different. With the thick frames of the glasses out of the game, and some contact lenses to replace them - in addition to some better shaped shapes and a few more centimeters -, Belly has grown enough to attract attention.

The summer when everything changed

When Belly arrives at the beach house, with her new attractive physique and expectations intact, both Contad and Jeremiah notice her transformation, which she notices immediately. This is important to the plot, because The girl is a sixteen-year-old teenager who is just beginning to discover her sexuality. and their most complex emotional needs.

In addition to all of the above, Belly You must find out which boy rules your heart, since she has been attracted to Conrad since childhood, but it is possible that her possibilities will open up to other horizons, giving her the opportunity to explore her feelings and mature on an emotional level.

The summer I fell in love: the series

Just two years after the release of the last film To all the boys that I fell in love with, Jenny Han returned, this time, to adapt the first of her trilogies, this time, in series format. On June 17, 2022, through Amazon Prime Video, the first season premiered de the summer i fell in love, with seven chapters of 45 minutes each.

The proposal encompasses the entire first book and a couple of scenes from the second. This production is directed by Erica Dunton, Jeff Chan, Jesse Peretz and Han herself, who debuted as executive producer and screenwriter of the entire work, which generated a lot of confidence in those nostalgic for the original material. Likewise, the series preserves the essence and main aspects of the novels.

Jenny Han's narrative style

Summer novels are characterized by presenting light, fun stories full of inspiring moments. or, simply, entertaining. the summer i fell in love It contains all these qualities: its language is simple and easy to read, it has a simple plot structure and a protagonist with whom any teenager could identify. Likewise, it shows several clichés.

Being a novel for young adults - although, according to Amazon recommendations, this can be read from the age of twelve -, chiches such as the love triangle, the isolated romantic interest and the smiling lover and the seemingly innocent protagonist discovering herself, may seem like tired tropes. Still, your readers may enjoy these resources.

About the author

Jenny Han was born on September 3, 1980, in Richmond, Virginia, United States. Coming from a Korean family, the author studied Literature at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, with a master's degree in Creative Writing from The New School. Later, she worked as a children's librarian. Her literary career began in college, when she wrote her first novel.

In August 2018, Netflix released a film based on To all the boys that I fell in love with, the first novel of the trilogy To all the boys. This starred Lana Condor, and had a brief cameo by Jenny Han. Later, the two films that continued the story of Lara Jean Covey were filmed.

Other books by Jenny Han

Children's books

  • Shug (2006);
  • Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream (2011)

Burn for Burn Trilogy

  • Burn for Burn (2012);
  • Fire with Fire (2013);
  • A (2014)

To All the Boys Trilogy

  • To all the boys that I fell in love with (2014)
  • D. I still love you (2015)
  • Forever, Lara Jean (2017)


"Polaris Is Where You'll Find Me" (2014).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *



  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.