2022 Literary Awards: Award Winning Books. Selection

These are some of the literary prizes awarded this year

The year is ending and it's time to review some of the most important literary prizes and the books or authors who have been awarded. We started in January with the Award Nadal and we have finished with the most recent and prestigious one, which is the Cervantes, Through the Planet, National of Letters, Princess of Asturias and, of course, the Nobel. And also a couple of children's and youth literature. To take note as gifts in these upcoming holidays. we see a selection.

Literary Awards — Award-winning books and authors

Nadal Award 2022 — The forms of love, by Inés Martín Rodrigo

Inés Martín Rodrigo is journalist and writer. Since 2008 she works in the Culture section of the newspaper ABC and is considered one of the leading cultural journalists. With this novel she won the earliest prize of the year, the Nadal.

Its protagonist is Bollardwho feels that he has to deal with the memory of his past when their grandparents die. Not being able to face his absence, he decides to leave and lock himself in his family home in town. There he will stand at once with the novel that has been delayed for years and that he will tell the story of his family with all that that can entail.

National Literature Award 2022 — Luis Landero

louis landero He is from Badajoz, from Albuquerque and graduated in Hispanic Philology from the Complutense University. He has been a professor of literature at the School of Dramatic Art in Madrid and was also a visiting professor at Yale University.

Already with several awards since it became known with late age games title with which he won the Critics Award and National Narrative Award 1990, also has those of the Book of the Year of the Guild of Booksellers of Madrid or Dulce Chacón 2015). His last published novel by him is a ridiculous story.

Azorín Novel Award 2022 — The Library of Fire, by María Zaragoza

This award began in 1994 and in this edition it has been Maria Zaragoza, Manchegan writer born in Campo de Criptana. She has done it with a novel that takes us to Madrid in the thirties and stars Tina, who dreams of becoming a librarian. Together with her friend Veva de ella, she will discover an unknown universe between cabarets and feminist clubs, cursed books and old ghosts. So they will find the Invisible Library, an ancient secret society that watches over banned books.

Planeta Award 2022 — Far from Louisiana, by Luz Gabás

In its 70th edition the Planet, the largest of all, was taken this year by the writer light gabas. The finalist was Cristina Campos, with his novel stories of married women.

Nobel Prize in Literature — Annie Ernaux

La French writer she took the most important international prize for literature, the Nobel, thus entering the exclusive, but short list of winning writers. With a personal and very particular work, Ernaux puts the most golden finishing touch to his career.

National Narrative Prize of Spain — Marilar Aleixandre

The Madrid narrator, poet and translator Marilar Aleixandre, who uses the gallego as a literary language, was the winner of this prize, awarded in October, for her work As bad mulleres, a unique historical novel about the prison situation of women in the XNUMXth century.

Hans Christian Andersen Award — Tristan's Gang, by Marie-Aude Murail

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and illustrator of books for children and young people. This year the French author Marie-Aude Murail has taken it for this story starring Tristán, a boy who wants to join one of the gangs in his class. The problem is that you have to pass some very difficult tests and others that are impossible. So he decides to form his own and everyone will enter, from the smallest to the girls.

Princess of Asturias Award for Literature — Juan Mayorga

Juan Mayorga is the most represented living Spanish playwright in the world and he already had awards to his credit such as the National Theater Award, the National Dramatic Literature Award or the Max for Best Author. So a career like hers undoubtedly deserved that Princess of Asturias award. Among the best known and most represented titles of him stands out The boy in the last row.

Cervantes Award — Rafael Cadenas

One of the awards given at the end of the year, and the most important of our letters, has been taken by the Venezuelan writer, poet and essayist, Raphael Chains.

Edebé Children's and Youth Literature Awards 2022 — King, by Monica Rodriguez, and An ewok in the gardenby Pedro Ramos

The Edebé publishing house presented its prizes for children's and young people's literature in January and is now the thirtieth edition. The winners were the Oviedo writer Mónica Rodríguez, with the novel King, and Pedro Ramos from Madrid, with An ewok in the garden. 

The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here!.

A comment, leave yours

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *



  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.

  1.   Edgar Cardona Villarreal said

    Other awards are missing such as: Alfaguara, Edgar (Allan Poe), Kafka and others